Emergency Bedside ‘Kit’

Student Blogging Challenge: Week 4 – Activity 2; ft. Mrs Smith’s post


For one of Mrs Smith’s activities, she asked us to write a post about what we would pack in an emergency bedside kit for if a natural disaster were to occur.

Here, one of the only major natural disasters that occur regularly in or around our region are bushfires. Now, I’m not sure if my family has an emergency kit, but I know that I don’t have a bedside one. I do know, however, what I would grab to take with me in an emergency before I left.

The first thing (after my family) would most definitely be the dog. Even if we do not get anything else out of the house, as long as my family is safe (including pets), everything will be fine.

The second thing I’d grab would be a phone, as well as dad’s two-way if we can get to them. That way we would at least be able to contact people.

The third thing I’d grab would be some water, for obvious reasons.

I would also like to grab my wallet so that we have some money. At least we would be able to buy some food. I would have said a map, but I know that we have a good travelling map in the car which we would take with us or remove from the car on the way out.

For a little while now, I have been putting anything that has a special meaning to me, or that I want to keep special, into a small box next to my bed. It includes letters, photos, trinkets and gifts, some drawings and some of my old journals. If I had time to, this box would probably be the final thing I grabbed before heading out the door.

I often think about what I would do if my family had to evacuate due to an approaching bushfire. I don’t think it’s a bad thing to be thinking about it, we need to be prepared anyway, but if I stick to the subject for too long then I start to stress myself out.

I know that what I have written isn’t exactly an ’emergency bedside kit’ content, but it is what I would take if I had a minute to get out of the house.

Yours faithfully,

Grace

 

One thought on “Emergency Bedside ‘Kit’

  1. Kayley

    Hi Grace,
    My name is Kayley and I am in Ms. Smiths class! I was looking at all of the comments on the emergence post and I came across yours. I didn’t say in my post that I would grab my dog But I know that I would defiantly grab him in an emergence. One of the hazards in our area is long power outages and flooding. Resonantly we had a short power outage and a heavy rain storm. I think that most of the stuff in your bed side kit is very smart.
    Have a wonderful day,
    ~Kayley<3
    My blog https://kayleyz12.edublogs.org

Leave a Reply