Writer’s Block

Have you ever come up with a really brilliant idea! Like an amazing story topic or character.

Have you ever sat down to write it out and thought…”what was I doing again?”

Have you ever sat down to write something, started, and then completely forgotten where you were heading with your idea?

Have you ever gone to write something and just though, “…Ummm……?”

Well, I have. I have experienced all of those things and all of them more than once. In fact, so many people have experienced at least one of the above, that the experience itself has even been given a name – Writer’s Block.

I have writer’s block right now, well sort of… Not really, but I did. In the last 20 – 30 minutes, I have started three blog posts. One I deleted because I had no idea what I was even talking about anymore. The second was about future aspirations or something, I don’t really remember you see because for the last fifteen minutes, I have been sitting in front of another blank word document, trying to think of something else to write about.

I literally typed up blog post ideas in the Google search bar because I couldn’t think of anything. Actually, I did find one site – 101 Blog Post Ideas –  it has some pretty good ideas – just none I felt like writing about.

Anyway, I’m sure that, if you have ever experienced writers block, you will know how utterly, totally, completely infuriating it can be! It kind of makes you want to either forget about the task all together, or pull your hair out with exasperation.

I know it can be especially annoying when you are short on time; or you are only a few words under the required word count; or you haven’t had time to work on your homework until now because of all the crazy stuff going on in your life and hey, what do you know, homework is due tomorrow! Oops, totally not me…

Actually, I know a few things about writer’s block. I know it can sneak up and strike at the most unpredictable times. I also know that it’s favourite time to strike is when one is under a lot of pressure. This includes situations like writing essays, taking tests, writing letters, etc. Again, definitely not me!

One thing I don’t know is how to get rid of writer’s block. If anyone has the answer I would love to hear it, as I feel I/we/everyone could greatly benefit from the information!

Hopefully writer’s block will give me a bit of a break, and I will be able to write a more interesting post next week!

Yours faithfully,

Grace

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. lynnie57

    Only you, Grace, would come up with writing a post on not being able to write a post!!! Great idea. And you are correct, writers’ block is at its worst when you have a deadline.

    The only tip I remember about having writer’s block is finishing something half way through a paragraph or sentence so you have something to pick up on next time. I use that a lot. The other thing I do jot down ideas when I get them then go back to my ideas list when I am stuck.

    Other than that, I sympathise.

  2. 9kayden

    Uugghh!! Writers block always happens to me when I’m doing a test, like NAPLAN. In fact, after that last sentence I just stared at the screen, trying to find something else to say! Anyway, I love the picture. It’s totally me when I’m doing this stuff! Writers block drives me mental.

  3. Peta

    I think you have FOUND the solution, Grace. You clearly grabbed that problem by the little bag it was hiding in and tipped it out on it’s head and created an insightful blog.

Leave a Reply